Sex (but no baby) and the City

“Living” in New York after spending my first 26 years in Indiana is like throwing a child who’s never played a sport before onto a field of professional football players mid-play.  Probably not a very good analogy but I can’t think of anything else to compare it to. It’s unlike anything we’re used to or have ever seen.  The people alone are all so unique, so individual, and so diverse!  It really is an eye-opening experience.

Right now my “average” day goes as follows: Up around 6a.m. to shower and get ready for the day.  I then drive to the train station to make the 7:22 or the 7:55 train from Little Neck to Penn Station.  I usually have to park about 4 blocks away and walk there, so I am very much lying when I say the 7:22, I’ve only made that train once.  🙂  Oh, and every other day I have been stopping at starbucks and allowing myself the wonderful sensation that is a nonfat grande white chocolate mocha (with no whipped cream)… that’s gotta stop!

When I arrive at Penn Station I exit and walk to the subway, take the F uptown.  I ride for about 5 stops to 63rd and Lexington and then walk 11 blocks (10 north, 1 west) to our doctor’s office – arriving almost like clockwork at 9:20a.m.  Between appointments I walk.  I’m only blocks from central park.  I’m only a block from the rodeo drive of New York (gucci, prada, etc. etc. etc.) which makes for great window shopping.  Sometimes I walk approximately 30 blocks to Times Square to be bombarded by the crazies selling bus tours, bike tours, other tours, and knick knacks.  Sometimes I walk down side streets to discover ma and pa places to add to my list of places to eat. There isn’t usually enough time for the museums or attractions, but when there is I take full advantage.

I also eat – each trip to the city is a welcoming and exciting temptation to try new things or indulge in old.  The pizza, on every block, is my biggest weakness; at $2.50 a slice can you blame me?  I’ve also ventured into unknown places with no tables and loud, obnoxious and sweaty cooks -those are often the best finds.  I’ve eaten at the Tao, the chinese restaurant in Sex and the City 2.  I’ve eaten at three restaurants for one meal; a salad from here, a sandwich from there, dessert from a third.  I always eat alone and I always eat slowly, savoring the flavors and sensations that nothing in Indiana can come close to.  Often I spend up to an hour carefully choosing my next venue.

I am proud of myself for quickly falling into the mold of being a New Yorker.  I walk quickly every where I go, even if I’m not in a hurry.  I don’t ever make eye contact.  I talk about the train, the subway and public transit in general as if I grew up riding the rails; the other day I even pointed tourists in the right direction!  Under normal circumstances I avoid the busier streets and I’m no longer afraid to walk on the grates.  When I drive, which is now rare, my horn is my best friend and I accelerate faster than the average scion.  I cut people off all the time because it’s the only way to make it into the lane you want and I very rarely signal.  New York is the only state I have ever driven in where you can race past a police car and they could care less as long as you’re driving in a straight line.

But there are parts of me that will always be from Indiana.  I don’t like rude people, the ones that cut in front of me or bump into me without saying excuse me; I’m probably the most polite subway rider ever, giving up my seat to almost anyone.  My heart still aches for the homeless and I always try to have leftovers or grab an extra granola bar that I can hand out to at least one of them.  Sometimes my feet beg me to slow down since we’re not in a hurry, and my legs cramp in anger at my newly adapted walk-run.  I still say “Ya’ll”.  My eyes still tear when I see people spending $30,000 a month in rent, knowing damn well that that amount of money could save lives.  I still pride myself on buying most of my shoes for less than $25, and I absolutely refuse to ever wear some of those ridiculous fashions like 80’s inspired neon leggings or those hideous jackets. Oh, and I will never carry a small dog in my purse – ever.

My mission for this week is to channel my inner Carrie and really start using the city as the blank canvas of my life that it could be.  I may be here for one reason with one goal in mind, but I am bound and determined to make it one of the best experiences I’ve ever had; why harp on the bad when I have the opportunity to turn it in to something good?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Tamara Whaley
    Dec 07, 2010 @ 01:12:30

    I love that you got to experience NYC longer than a tourist does for a few days….I absolutely LOVED living in Manhattan back in 1996-1997. I so relate to everything you said, too funny 🙂 It always amazed me that I would walk home from work in the West Village to the Upper West Side and be entertained along the way and had no idea just how many miles I walked(it was approx. 70 blocks and I think over 5 miles.) There’s no way I would or probably could here….and the pizza….oh the pizza…. :)) Even though you were going through so much at the clinic, I’m so glad you were able to embrace the city as your own!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

