Friends

Pretty vague heading, right?

Over the past year I have learned a lot.  I honestly think that when I’m 95 (because yes, I’ll live to be at least that old) I’ll still look back and say “2009 and 2010, yes those are the years that I learned so much”.  And one thing that I feel I have learned so much about is friendship.

The term “friend” is used so much, and so loosely, that when all things are considered it has lost so much worth.  So, the nerdy side of me looked up the definition of friend and found (thanks to wikipedia):

Value that is found in friendships is often the result of a friend demonstrating the following on a consistent basis:

  • The tendency to desire what is best for the other
  • Sympathy and empathy
  • Honesty, perhaps in situations where it may be difficult for others to speak the truth, especially in terms of pointing out the perceived faults of one’s counterpart
  • Mutual understanding and compassion
  • Trust in one another; able to go to each other for emotional support

Reading this definition was both enlightening and humbling.  Humbling, because I know that I have done things in the past that do not at all resonate these qualities as a friend.  I also know that I have worked incredibly hard over the past few years, and will continue to work, to become this type of friend.  Enlightening, because it made me realize that 1) it’s time to clean out the facebook friends list, and 2) while I have some “friends” who are so far from fitting the mold they are strangers, I also have some absolutely amazing friends who make that definition look weak.

If you are one of those amazing friends who has been there for me when I needed you the most, who has kept secrets, who has handed out more support than pantyhose, and has dealt with more venting than a dryer repairman – thank YOU!  I can only pray that someday I’m able to repay that friendship and be there for you when you need it.

(Special shoutout to: Abbey, Andrew, Brian C, Brian L, all of CMFK, Dena, Greg, Jennifer, Jena, Jess, LENNY, Micaela, Stacy, Steph K, Steph L, Tamara, Val and our families.) – Yes, I put the names in alphabetical order to not play favorites  🙂

Have a great week!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Andrew
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 01:00:36

    The older you get the more you’ll see and realize who your true friends are. It’s an interesting process weeding out the acquaintances….who needs them anyway? 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

