Mantras

You have brains in your head.  You have feet in your shoes.  You can steer yourself, any direction you choose.

~Dr. Seuss

Since starting on our journey I have had many mantras that I repeat over and over to make it through the day.  Right now, my mantra is the one above.  Leave it to good ol’ Dr. Seuss.  But he is so right – we choose where we head.  We choose how we view each day and what we do each day.

I’m not going to sugar coat it, things are hard right now.  In addition to being in limbo with our second cycle, Lenny’s grandmother, our dear Nan, is very ill; it has been an extremely upsetting time for everyone.  I’m trying to start a state-wide nonprofit from five states away, by myself, without a paycheck.  I’m living without my husband and without my friends.  But I choose how to wake up in the morning, how to handle these tough times, and how to face the challenges.  Thank you, Dr. Seuss, for that wonderful daily reminder.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. egghunt
    Sep 20, 2010 @ 06:36:34

    Theres something about that rhymy, lighthearted way that Dr Seuss words it that makes me sit up and take notice. It feels achievable the way he’s worded it.

    Sorry you’re going through a rough patch, I hope you find blogging a great outlet and I’m sure you’ll find the support from others on this dreadful journey invaluable.
    x

    Reply

  2. Erica
    Sep 20, 2010 @ 22:15:40

    Hello, Welcoming you from LFCA. I love your mantra. Sorry about the loss of Nan. I too have a Nan and Pop.

    Reply

Leave a comment